The very best of our borough was celebrated last night at the 2014 Croydon Champions awards. 

The Croydon Guardian's 13th annual awards ceremony honoured the courageous, the committed and the selfess at the Hilton Croydon hotel in Waddon

Shortlisted nominees, family and friends were joined by some of the borough's dignitaries in an audience of around 120 people. 

They were greeted on arrival by music from the Royal Russell School Orchestra and also enjoyed a performance by the Trinity School Boys Choir. 

Generous guests raised £234 for this year's supported charity, Skye Alexandra House, which provides a safe haven for girls caught up in gang violence.

Sherica Spence, the charity's founder, paid tribute to the borough, as did the Mayor of Croydon Councillor Manju Shahul-Hameed, and Croydon Guardian editor Nick Hitchens, who hosted the awards.

Mr Hitchens said: "Everyone invited this evening has contributed to making this borough a fantastic place to live, work, and be a part of.

"I would like to congratulate everyone here tonight, but more importantly thank you for the great work you have been carrying out for years, and will no doubt continue to do for many years to come."

Croydon Champions 2014 winners:

Act of Bravery

Winner: Russell Easterbrook

Highly Commended: Kevin Kararwa

Commended: Police Response Team D


Arts and Entertainment Champion

Winner: Fiona Lipscombe

Highly Commended: SLIDE

Commended: Hale Man

Business Champion

Winner: Mum's the Chef

Highly Commended: Tina Mevlit

Commended: TPS Schal


Charity Volunteer

Winner: Ted Williams

Highly Commended: Jean Shaw

Commended: Moise Bailey


Child of Courage

Winner: William Milne

Highly Commended: Emma Doenges

Commended: Isha Khan


Community Champion

Winner: Fatima Koroma

Highly Commended: Fred Wallis

Commended: Shasha Khan

Parent of the Year

Winner: Althea Smith

Highly Commended: Catherine Roberts

Commended: Stella Nicolaou

Sporting Champion

Winner: Chunilal Jobanputra

Highly Commended: Marlan Anthony

Commended: Brandon Vencatachellum

Teacher of the Year

Winner: David Clark

Highly Commended: Michael Bloss

Commended: Charles Wallendahl

Team of the Year

Winner: Timebridge Energetic and Wise Project

Highly Commended: Young London Today

Commended: Upper Norwood Library Trust