Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards 2012

Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards 2012

Glyn School under 15 Rugby Team collect the AFC Ewell Young Sports Team of the Year Award

Epsom Hockey Club pick up the Aon Hewitt Sports Club of the Year Award

Winner of Active Surrey Coach of the Year Award Liz Moulam (left) with Rekha Bansil (right) from Active Surrey

First published in Local Sports Round-up Croydon Guardian: Photograph of the Author by , Chief reporter - Epsom

The borough’s talented athletes, hard-working coaches and committed sports volunteers were honoured at an awards ceremony last week.

More than 200 people attended the Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards 2012, organised by the council, on October 2, at Epsom Downs Racecourse.

Nominations were received by athletes, parents, clubs, coaches, volunteers and teams across the borough, but only 10 winners walked away with prizes.

Jamie Matthews was named as the borough's sports personality of the year; while the Epsom Gym and Trampoline club young sports personality of the year was Aydin Djemal.

Karen Chapman won the Epsom and Ewell Colts Football Club volunteer of the year; Vicki Howard was the Surrey County Playing Fields Association young volunteer of the year; and Stan Somerford received the Rotary Club outstanding service to sport award.

The Aon Hewitt Sports club of the year award went to Epsom Hockey Club; Daniel Shipton won the Epsom and Ewell Football Club disability sports award; Glyn School’s under 15 rugby team won AFC Ewell’s young sports team of the year; and Epsom and Ewell Colts under 18 football team won the Fulham FC foundation sports team of the year.

Liz Moulam was named the Active Surrey coach of the year.

Councillor Jan Mason, chairwoman of the council’s leisure committee, said: "After a fantastic summer of sport, the awards are an opportunity to reward the borough's sporting achievements.

"Both the winners and nominees for the awards have all achieved success to be shortlisted in their award category, well done to all involved."

All of the winners will be entered for the Surrey Sports Awards 2012, which will take place on December 9 and Surrey winners may then be put forward for more awards, including BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree